856-858-9840 email

reviews


Channeling a small italian village, this cozy collingswood trattoria matches beautiful decor, innovative mouth watering cooking for a good price, helped along by the BYO policy.  The only sticking point is the loud sound level so do not expect to carry on a conversation.

ADULATION of fresh vegetables and seasonal ingredients may seem cutting-edge, but Nunzio Patruno grew up cooking this new old-fashioned way years ago, and he has the loyal hordes to prove it.

He was deliberate and quick, an exemplary table side showman.  Seasoning seemed non-existent on the fish, but it was so moist it was obvious that perfection was attained in the cooking process.  Branzino, a European sea bass, is gaining popularity in this country.  And if it’s always prepared like this, that’s a very good thing.

Nunzio wastes no time in the kitchen.  I didn’t see any tall food go by – no teetering ziggurats sporting herbal antennae.  Nunzio merely places the food on the plate, content to dazzle you with its deliciousness.

whose stuffed Colorado Lamb anchored holiday meals resonated most with our readers, nearly, 8,000 of whom weighed in. With 58% of votes for the last seven rounds in seven months, Patruno can officially lay claim to the title of South Jersey Magazines Top Chef.

Chef Nunzio Patruno’s trattoria in the heart of downtown Collingswood has rightfully remained one of South Jersey’s go-to spots for a fine family meal built around classic dishes.


Here’s a reason to become a regular: you can store your wine in Nunzio’s own wine locker at this favorite Italian BYOB—minus the corkage fee.

Nunzio’s has earned its rightful place in the South Jersey dining scene and remains worthy of the 4 forks we awarded the restaurant years back. And while food trends may come and go, this South Jersey mainstay seems to have figured out the formula to keep all sorts of diners coming back.

No bones about it: The whole branzino is quickly and expertly filleted tableside, and is positively seductive with its golden drizzle…

This is an authentic Italian restaurant in every respect that will garner national attention, and it will go a long way in helping to build a much-improved restaurant and food culture in our area.


Customer Reviews

Please extend my sincere gratitude to Nunzio, Antonio, John & the team for everything they did to present a very special evening for my Mom. She is recovering from an incredibly debilitating fall/injury and last night was the first real evening out….at her request and the Nunzio’s Team made it all amazingly special!! Can’t thank you all enough…..PURE MAGIC!!
– Dan M., 10/27/18.

I had a business lunch here and it was fantastic. We did the lunch special, three courses fixed price. There were a good number of choices, I had the capers salad, homemade gnocchi in Gorgonzola cream sauce, and tortuta ice cream. Everything was impeccable. The service was great. Parking is public by the elevated train in back or on the street in front.
– Kerry B., 10/20/18.

Decided to check Nunzio’s out on a whim, and I’m really glad we did. We both started with the tuna carpaccio special, which was delicious.. very delicately sliced tuna, tasty, aged parm and capers with arugula and olive oil. It was a perfect, light, fresh start and paired really well with the Meiomi rose’ we brought. Next we had the lobster bisque which was loaded with crab meat and very well balanced without feeling too heavy or overly salty.
-Tyler H., 10/13/18. 

Photo of Nunzio Ristorante Rustico - Collingswood, NJ, United States

I ordered the lobster ravioli in vodka sauce entree and the wife got the scallop special. The ravioli was delicious and fresh. The vodka sauce was very creamy and smooth with a great parm finish, fresh crushed tomatoes and fresh basil. Again, paired really well with the Rose’. The scallop special was really flavorful, served with sauteed spinach and mango. The saltiness of the grilled scallops went really well with the sweetness of the mango and spinach combo.

Our server, Mustafa, made the evening perfect by topping off the meal with a tasty tiramisu that he had written happy anniversary in giant letters on with chocolate sauce after we mentioned it was our 17th the next day.

Overall, we were impressed with the entire evening, and will definitely be back.

In the spirit of full disclosure, the restaurant is pretty loud.. if you’re looking for a quiet, romantic, candlelight evening, this may not be the place. That being said.. Don’t come here for that, come with your family and bring wine!

We had a wonderful time for my sister’s birthday. We mentioned it and they celebrated with candle and song! Wait staff is very attentive, always on the move and anticipating the next part of the meal!
– Barbara F., 10/7/18.

We had a wonderful time for my sister’s birthday. We mentioned it and they celebrated with candle and song! Wait staff is very attentive, always on the move and anticipating the next part of the meal!
– Barbara F., 10/6/18.

This is an AMAZING place. Great food (had the lobster ravioli)! Just make sure you bring your own wine (which is acceptable) because the town is DRY! Another party shared their wine with us so we enjoyed our food.
– Edward H., 9/9/18.

Great environment! Very delicious food and great atmosphere. Would highly recommend for romantic Italian food.
– Mike Philly, 9/5/18.

The branzino, scallops and profiteroles were amazing. Nunzio, the owner and his friendly staff make this restaurant consistently great visit after visit!
–  ChristineD, 9/1/18.

I can’t think of any words that would do justice to this restaurant.Fantastic doesn’t even come close. All I can say is go there. Go there quick.Or you will be missing out on a great meal.
– Riche, 8/26/18.

As always the food is excellent. We were in Italy for a month and visited Nunzio’s home town. We stayed close by. Had dinner and spent some time speaking with him. Very welcoming. Just a great chef! We love the restaurant. If you hurry you can still get the 3 courses for 35! Awesome deal! Have fun! We always do.
– JoeH, 8/22/18.

That we traveled (and not our first time) from Bethlehem, PA to Collingswood to dine with friends at Nunzios should tell you all you need to know.A go to place for this Italian, other than my wife’s cooking.
– 05DJD, 8/19/18.

Nunzio never disappoints! Fabulous! The food is always fresh and delicious.
– Griswold, 8/18/18.

Food & service were excellent. I had scallops appetizer and rack of lamb. It isn’t the first time having scallops and definitely will not be the last, they are best I have had! Rack of lamb was very good as well.
– Steak48, 8/17/18.

BYOB was cool! This spot is soooo yummy! I’m from south Florida so I wanted to find a nice Italian spot. The inside is nice and the food was great!
– Erika C., 8/11/18.

Everything was wonderful. We got the special zucchini flowers stuffed with crab and shrimp and calamari as appetizers. I had the Cappellini al Granchio, which might have been the best pasta I ever had! I ate all of it. And for dessert Copa Fantasia which was very summery and light! Just perfect. I would definitely come again! 10/10.
– Mona C., 8/8/18.

The food was excellent, as usual. Pleasant surprise was a specially priced for restaurant week lunch menu. I assumed that was strictly for evening. There were many items available in each category- appetizer, entre, and dessert. Thoroughly enjoyed lunch!
– MarianneR., 7/24/18.

My wife and I dine at Nunzio’s on a regular basis. The food is delicious. We had the octopus as an appetizer and it was the best. The olive oil is higher quality. Our entrees well prepared expertly. We thoroughly enjoy having dinner at Nunzio’s.
– Johann NYC, 7/1/18.

Solid authentic Italian experience of the senses. All bases are covered. An Italian restaurant much like one you would find along a restaurant row in many parts of Europe. BYOB and family friendly. Service is 5 Star, food is 4.5, atmosphere 4, price 3.5. Would return and recommend.
– Sky H., 6/25/18.

Thank you and your staff for a fabulous dinner last night in your private room for 20 people. Many of my friends from Woolwich were not familiar with the restaurants in Collingswood and had a fabulous time last night all raving about how excellent all the meals were. The staff were awesome. The room was perfect. It just made my 70th birthday fabulous. And many of our friends want to return.
– B & J Cygan, 5/29/18.

Amazing lunch!
Wow! I can’t say enough amazing things about this place! We made lunch reservations and were seated right away. The restaurant is actually a lot bigger than it looks from the outside. There was a lunch special for $20 where you got a full appetizer (for yourself), an entree, and a dessert for only $20! Almost the whole table did this offer. Each appetizer and entree were delicious. We had no co… More
– Htmsgirl, 5/18/18.

Came in for restaurant week and while tempted to try the lamb shank on the restaurant week menu I opted for the regular menu with the tuna carpaccio app and went with the veal chop special which was pretty good. This comes with a few potato’s, a little spinach and mushrooms. The tuna carpaccio was ok but I wish I went with the lobster bisque instead. It’s nice that the regular menu is available during restaurant week and the 5/6 specials that were available all sounded good and I was not disappointed with the veal chop.
– Joe S., 4/23/18.

Always a family favorite with high quality food. Our family has been coming to Nunzio’s for years, from a quiet dinner for two, to celebrating special occasions with the whole family in a private room set aside from the restaurant. The food is always first class as is the service and presentation. Highly recommended.
– Elizabeth B., 5/3/18.

The staff were wonderful, They made sure we were enjoying ourselves. The calamari was perfectly cooked, & so tender. It came with a red dipping sauce which was also delicious.This came with shrimp on top.It was accompanied with a mild sauce & potatoes.I had a chicken & shrimp special, which was also delicious! we will be back soon..
– Carol L., 4/17/18.

From the moment you enter this establishment you feel welcomed. The atmosphere is inviting and cozy. Our waiter Ryan was professional, friendly and accommodating. The Chef can take simple ingredients and transforms them into mouth watering, clean creations for any pallet.  We wished we lived closer so we could frequent Nunzio’s more often. You can be assured you will never be disappointed! It’s a true dining experience you must try!! Bravo Chef Nunzio
– Linda G., 4/9/2018.

Simply put… exceptional. Chef Nunzio is an artist at play in the kitchen. His staff is super friendly and provide exceptional service. I was lucky enough to have dinner with friends at the chef’s table in his kitchen… no end in site to the food that keeps coming. Treat yourself, life’s short.
– P. Knapp, 4/1/18.

This is one of my favorite restaurants. I’ve taken every member in my family. They owners are very involved and like to know their customers. Food is outstanding and never boring.
– Kesha L., 3/1/18.

Thank you so much for the wonderful party you provided for my wife’s 70th birthday party.  The food was absolutely delicious and the service outstanding.  We have been receiving calls all week from family and friends raving about the party and how they have never attended a celebration to match the affair you provided,  With our deepest respect and appreciation.
– A. & M. Schernecki, 2/4/218.

Recently my wife and i went to the nunzio. we loved the atmosphere,the food and the service.our waiter mustafa was so accommodating and professional i had veal chop by his recommendation and it was the best veal chop i ever had.i highly recommend nunzio restaurant if you ever go to collingswood.
– Farz I., 1/18/18.

Love going there food is delicious. Atmosphere and service wonderful. Makes me feel great every time we dined there. My birthday tonight felt very special. Thank you to my husband for taking me there.
– Deborah M., 1/9/18.

Best meal I have ever had! I plan on returning soon! Food was cooked perfectly. I couldn’t ask for anymore!
– Tommy D., 1/6/18.

Last night 6 of us had dinner Nunzio everything was fantastic I had Oysters Rockefeller the best ever Happy New Year to you & your staff Will be back again for your delicious cooking.
– Sharon H., 12/31/17.

Collingswood has it’s share of Italian Restaurants; Three of these deserve 5-Star ratings without a question: Nunzio’s, Sapori and That’s Amore!  Nunzio’s is a great choice for lunch or dinner, and can accommodate groups. It’s also a great spot for a date night – my wife and went on our first date here. The atmosphere depicts an al fresco in an Italian villa. They always seem to have creative specials; I’ve enjoyed their seasonals like pumpkin ravioli. Their seafood is especially good too. Definitely a staple of the Collingswood restaurant scene.
– Brian S., 1/1/18.

We had our Holiday Party last night, 12/18/17. This was my first time going to Nunzio’s. What a charming restaurant. It is beautiful, cozy & very comfortable. The staff was great… so pleasant & accommodating. The food was fabulous! We really enjoyed our time at your establishment Nunzio. Thank you & all the best for you, all of your staff & your family! Merry Christmas, Happy, Holidays & a Very Happy New Year!  I hope to come back again.
– Linda D., 12/18/17.

Our family has been coming to Nunzio’s for years, from a quiet dinner for two, to celebrating special occasions with the whole family in a private room set aside from the restaurant. The food is always first class as is the service and presentation. Highly recommended.
– Adrianna O., 12/17/17.

Hosted ten people last night in tasting room for my birthday. Food, service and atmosphere were fabulous. We had tuna mango appetizers, seared tuna, langostino, lamb chops, skate and bronzino,mussels, calamari and then spectacular desserts. Our second time here- I would rate this 100 stars if I could.
– Camilla B., 11/26/17.

Far exceeded my expectation. Amazing cuisine, true authentic Italian cooking and nice ambiance. I had the grilled octopus as an appetizer, linguine pescatore as an entree and just when I thought I couldn’t eat another bite, I devoured a vanilla & chocolate ice cream truffle dipped in espresso & sambuca. Everything was excellent & I’m not easy to please when dining out. Our server, Ryan, was knowledgeable, attentive & professional. It’s a distance from my house but the trip was well worth it and I will definitely go back.
– Roseann D.,  11/6/17.

Relied on yelp to find a restaurant near concert  in Camden, not disappointed! Delicious appetizers of sauteed scallops and lobster bisque, the best veal chop my husband ever had and a great filet with Gorgonzola for me. Very nice atmosphere and friendly service, love that it’s BYOB. Hope to visit again soon!
– Mary R., 8/26/17.

Hands down the best BYOB around. Each time we visit we are always impressed. He’s always adding new creative dishes. The seafood is always fresh you can tell. Very warm and friendly staff. We will keep coming back !! Great job Nunzios.
– Mike R., 8/3/17.

 

“Fantastic Dinner”

Four of us had dinner at Nunzio. Made a Saturday night reservation and were seated promptly. The service and the waiter were excellent. Three of the 4 guests had either soup or an appetizer. They said the soup was excellent and the Polipo alla Griglia was absolutely great. We all ordered specials; 2 had seared tuna which was cooked perfectly, 1 had the stuffed veal chop which she raved about, and I had the Branzino with crab-meat and shrimp. I think it was the best meal on the table. We will definitely go back. The only reason we did not give 5 stars is the price was a bit on the high side for price. It is a BYOB so there were no drinks, but the bill was $240. Nice place with great food, but a bit pricey.

-MB, 8/1/17

 

 The only reason I didn’t want to finish my meal was that I didn’t want the experience to end. From appetizer to desert, every bite was as amazing as the last. My fiancee and I have found OUR spot!

– Michael G., 7/30/17

Subscribe to the Nunzio Ristorante Rustico Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest menu updates and special events notifications

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest