856-858-9840 email

reviews


Channeling a small italian village, this cozy collingswood trattoria matches beautiful decor, innovative mouth watering cooking for a good price, helped along by the BYO policy.  The only sticking point is the loud sound level so do not expect to carry on a conversation.

ADULATION of fresh vegetables and seasonal ingredients may seem cutting-edge, but Nunzio Patruno grew up cooking this new old-fashioned way years ago, and he has the loyal hordes to prove it.

He was deliberate and quick, an exemplary table side showman.  Seasoning seemed non-existent on the fish, but it was so moist it was obvious that perfection was attained in the cooking process.  Branzino, a European sea bass, is gaining popularity in this country.  And if it’s always prepared like this, that’s a very good thing.

Nunzio wastes no time in the kitchen.  I didn’t see any tall food go by – no teetering ziggurats sporting herbal antennae.  Nunzio merely places the food on the plate, content to dazzle you with its deliciousness.

whose stuffed Colorado Lamb anchored holiday meals resonated most with our readers, nearly, 8,000 of whom weighed in. With 58% of votes for the last seven rounds in seven months, Patruno can officially lay claim to the title of South Jersey Magazines Top Chef.

Chef Nunzio Patruno’s trattoria in the heart of downtown Collingswood has rightfully remained one of South Jersey’s go-to spots for a fine family meal built around classic dishes.


Here’s a reason to become a regular: you can store your wine in Nunzio’s own wine locker at this favorite Italian BYOB—minus the corkage fee.

Nunzio’s has earned its rightful place in the South Jersey dining scene and remains worthy of the 4 forks we awarded the restaurant years back. And while food trends may come and go, this South Jersey mainstay seems to have figured out the formula to keep all sorts of diners coming back.

No bones about it: The whole branzino is quickly and expertly filleted tableside, and is positively seductive with its golden drizzle…

This is an authentic Italian restaurant in every respect that will garner national attention, and it will go a long way in helping to build a much-improved restaurant and food culture in our area.


Customer Reviews

Picturesque ambiance with appropriately attentive and knowledgeable service. The food was absolutely delicious, one of the best dinners each member of our party remembered having. My yellow fin tuna was prepared perfectly. I’m anxious to go back and try another dish.
– WalterS, 3/2/2019.

Nunzio’s Is one of the finest restaurants in the area. His food is as good as any Italian restaurant in Italy. I see a real distinction between Italian restaurants in the United States from those in Italy and very few if any come up to the same level as those in Italy. Nunzio’s restaurant measures up to those I have frequent in Italy.
– SalG, 2/17/2019.

I had the lobster bisque with crab meat and the rack of lamb. Everything was delicious. The bisque was the perfect thickness and temperature. The lamb was amazing. I’ll definitely be back again to try something else.
– OT, 2/7/2019.

Neighborhood Favorite. There are several Italian restaurants in my neighborhood but this one is a favorite for it’s food (Seafood Pasta is divine), ambiance and service. Booked a large reception recently and guests loved it. Chef Nunzio often personally checks in with guests during or after meal which adds that very personal touch which makes the dining experience even more special.
– Valerie J., 1/19/19.

I keep a list of restaurants in the tri state area I need to visit and while this has been on my list for quite a while, I left here wondering… what took me so long! The staff was pleasant, the service was impeccable, and the food was delightful! The ambiance was beautiful and actually reminded me of the quaint villas I visited while in Italy. To start the meal we were served bread which tasted like the best focaccia bread I have ever had. The perfect taste of olive oil created the perfect symphony. I tried the calamari for my appetizer. The calamari was perfectly seasoned & crisp and was served with a marinara sauce. The entrees were hard to choose from due to the great selection but I settled on the seafood pescatore. This dish had scallops, calamari, shrimp, and muscles in it. The sauce was robust & spicy…. the perfect combination! After enjoying a hearty meal my mouth was watering for dessert but I was too full.This definitely will not be my last time visiting here. If you desire a taste of Italy with an authentic setting you must visit Nunzio.
– Shirlana D., 1/12/19.

Never fails to impress. The menu is great. The specials are better! Their themed events are amazing. Every member of the staff is beyond friendly and you always feel welcomed. Are there cheaper places to eat? Of course, but freshness, excellent service wonderful combinations of flavors with excellent presentation, and a feeling of pride that emanates from every staff member, the Maitre d’, and Chef Patruno himself, during his frequent table-side visits, is a value that is worth every penny.
– Brett Morris, 1/8/19.

The decor is outstanding, we felt like we were transported to Italy. Service was very friendly, but not intrusive. Our party of 4 ordered the branzino, scallops, shrimp, and veal. Every dish was scrumptious. Nunzio’s is worthy of a special occasion, or just a nice dinner with friends and family. The dining room is divided into “courtyards”, which seems to keep the noise level down. We really enjoyed our meal and would go back again.
– LuciaD., 1/1/19.

Nunzios 7-fish Christmas Eve dinner included cod, mussels, calamari, lobster tail and several other delicious courses served family style, which made it easy to share with the kids. I highly recommend Nunzios for delicious scallops, branzino (whole or a filet) and their boar, in season. We’ve never had anything but excellent food and service here.
– ChristineD., 12/25/18.

What a wonderful experience ❣️❣️great service amazing food , can’t Waite to go back.
– Doreen Ruggiero, 12/23/18.

Was here last night for a birthday party. 9 of us were seated comfortably. The front of the house was efficient and friendly. The waiter did a great job being attentive. Not sure about all the complaints about service, ours was exactly as it should be. Everyone seemed to enjoy their dish. They accommodated to us bringing our own birthday cake which is an issue for some places
– Thomas M., 12/22/18.

My dish, the Osso bucco was awesome. The best I have had in years and I make it a habit of ordering it when I see it on a menu. Very well done as were my oysters and the scallop app I had. With the BYO we will surely return
– ELaineT., 12/21/18.

Great pre-holiday dinner with family who are going out of town! Thanks for a delicious meal! Waiter was professional and fun!
– GeorgiaB., 12/19/18.

Dinner was delicious and the service is very friendly. Definitely would refer others to dine here and we plan to visit again soon.
– Patrick, 12/14/18.

Absolutely wonderful dinner. Great waitress. Attentive staff. Worth the 90 minute drive to celebrate my husband’s birthday. Thank you for a wonderful dining experience .
– MEDV, 12/9/2018.

My husband and I met our son, who lives in Collingswood, for dinner last week. He recently moved into this wonderful town! Our dinner and dining experience was beautiful at Nunzio’s Restaurant. We had the pleasure of meeting the chef who came into the dining room to meet customers. Our waiter was attentive and ensured that our experience dining with them was exceptional.
– ConNicG, 12/7/18.

Excellent all around. As good as or better than any restaurant in Philly or New York. Only issue is reservations. Expect to wait at least a half hour or more WITH reservations on a Saturday night. Like that owner/chef personally visited each table to make sure everything was fine.
– Mitchellg, 11/18/18.

Please extend my sincere gratitude to Nunzio, Antonio, John & the team for everything they did to present a very special evening for my Mom. She is recovering from an incredibly debilitating fall/injury and last night was the first real evening out….at her request and the Nunzio’s Team made it all amazingly special!! Can’t thank you all enough…..PURE MAGIC!!
– Dan M., 10/27/18.

I had a business lunch here and it was fantastic. We did the lunch special, three courses fixed price. There were a good number of choices, I had the capers salad, homemade gnocchi in Gorgonzola cream sauce, and tortuta ice cream. Everything was impeccable. The service was great. Parking is public by the elevated train in back or on the street in front.
– Kerry B., 10/20/18.

Decided to check Nunzio’s out on a whim, and I’m really glad we did. We both started with the tuna carpaccio special, which was delicious.. very delicately sliced tuna, tasty, aged parm and capers with arugula and olive oil. It was a perfect, light, fresh start and paired really well with the Meiomi rose’ we brought. Next we had the lobster bisque which was loaded with crab meat and very well balanced without feeling too heavy or overly salty.
-Tyler H., 10/13/18. 

Photo of Nunzio Ristorante Rustico - Collingswood, NJ, United States

I ordered the lobster ravioli in vodka sauce entree and the wife got the scallop special. The ravioli was delicious and fresh. The vodka sauce was very creamy and smooth with a great parm finish, fresh crushed tomatoes and fresh basil. Again, paired really well with the Rose’. The scallop special was really flavorful, served with sauteed spinach and mango. The saltiness of the grilled scallops went really well with the sweetness of the mango and spinach combo.

Our server, Mustafa, made the evening perfect by topping off the meal with a tasty tiramisu that he had written happy anniversary in giant letters on with chocolate sauce after we mentioned it was our 17th the next day.

Overall, we were impressed with the entire evening, and will definitely be back.

In the spirit of full disclosure, the restaurant is pretty loud.. if you’re looking for a quiet, romantic, candlelight evening, this may not be the place. That being said.. Don’t come here for that, come with your family and bring wine!

We had a wonderful time for my sister’s birthday. We mentioned it and they celebrated with candle and song! Wait staff is very attentive, always on the move and anticipating the next part of the meal!
– Barbara F., 10/7/18.

We had a wonderful time for my sister’s birthday. We mentioned it and they celebrated with candle and song! Wait staff is very attentive, always on the move and anticipating the next part of the meal!
– Barbara F., 10/6/18.

This is an AMAZING place. Great food (had the lobster ravioli)! Just make sure you bring your own wine (which is acceptable) because the town is DRY! Another party shared their wine with us so we enjoyed our food.
– Edward H., 9/9/18.

Great environment! Very delicious food and great atmosphere. Would highly recommend for romantic Italian food.
– Mike Philly, 9/5/18.

The branzino, scallops and profiteroles were amazing. Nunzio, the owner and his friendly staff make this restaurant consistently great visit after visit!
–  ChristineD, 9/1/18.

I can’t think of any words that would do justice to this restaurant.Fantastic doesn’t even come close. All I can say is go there. Go there quick.Or you will be missing out on a great meal.
– Riche, 8/26/18.

As always the food is excellent. We were in Italy for a month and visited Nunzio’s home town. We stayed close by. Had dinner and spent some time speaking with him. Very welcoming. Just a great chef! We love the restaurant. If you hurry you can still get the 3 courses for 35! Awesome deal! Have fun! We always do.
– JoeH, 8/22/18.

That we traveled (and not our first time) from Bethlehem, PA to Collingswood to dine with friends at Nunzios should tell you all you need to know.A go to place for this Italian, other than my wife’s cooking.
– 05DJD, 8/19/18.

Nunzio never disappoints! Fabulous! The food is always fresh and delicious.
– Griswold, 8/18/18.

Food & service were excellent. I had scallops appetizer and rack of lamb. It isn’t the first time having scallops and definitely will not be the last, they are best I have had! Rack of lamb was very good as well.
– Steak48, 8/17/18.

BYOB was cool! This spot is soooo yummy! I’m from south Florida so I wanted to find a nice Italian spot. The inside is nice and the food was great!
– Erika C., 8/11/18.

Everything was wonderful. We got the special zucchini flowers stuffed with crab and shrimp and calamari as appetizers. I had the Cappellini al Granchio, which might have been the best pasta I ever had! I ate all of it. And for dessert Copa Fantasia which was very summery and light! Just perfect. I would definitely come again! 10/10.
– Mona C., 8/8/18.

The food was excellent, as usual. Pleasant surprise was a specially priced for restaurant week lunch menu. I assumed that was strictly for evening. There were many items available in each category- appetizer, entre, and dessert. Thoroughly enjoyed lunch!
– MarianneR., 7/24/18.

My wife and I dine at Nunzio’s on a regular basis. The food is delicious. We had the octopus as an appetizer and it was the best. The olive oil is higher quality. Our entrees well prepared expertly. We thoroughly enjoy having dinner at Nunzio’s.
– Johann NYC, 7/1/18.

Solid authentic Italian experience of the senses. All bases are covered. An Italian restaurant much like one you would find along a restaurant row in many parts of Europe. BYOB and family friendly. Service is 5 Star, food is 4.5, atmosphere 4, price 3.5. Would return and recommend.
– Sky H., 6/25/18.

Thank you and your staff for a fabulous dinner last night in your private room for 20 people. Many of my friends from Woolwich were not familiar with the restaurants in Collingswood and had a fabulous time last night all raving about how excellent all the meals were. The staff were awesome. The room was perfect. It just made my 70th birthday fabulous. And many of our friends want to return.
– B & J Cygan, 5/29/18.

Amazing lunch!
Wow! I can’t say enough amazing things about this place! We made lunch reservations and were seated right away. The restaurant is actually a lot bigger than it looks from the outside. There was a lunch special for $20 where you got a full appetizer (for yourself), an entree, and a dessert for only $20! Almost the whole table did this offer. Each appetizer and entree were delicious. We had no co… More
– Htmsgirl, 5/18/18.

Came in for restaurant week and while tempted to try the lamb shank on the restaurant week menu I opted for the regular menu with the tuna carpaccio app and went with the veal chop special which was pretty good. This comes with a few potato’s, a little spinach and mushrooms. The tuna carpaccio was ok but I wish I went with the lobster bisque instead. It’s nice that the regular menu is available during restaurant week and the 5/6 specials that were available all sounded good and I was not disappointed with the veal chop.
– Joe S., 4/23/18.

Always a family favorite with high quality food. Our family has been coming to Nunzio’s for years, from a quiet dinner for two, to celebrating special occasions with the whole family in a private room set aside from the restaurant. The food is always first class as is the service and presentation. Highly recommended.
– Elizabeth B., 5/3/18.

The staff were wonderful, They made sure we were enjoying ourselves. The calamari was perfectly cooked, & so tender. It came with a red dipping sauce which was also delicious.This came with shrimp on top.It was accompanied with a mild sauce & potatoes.I had a chicken & shrimp special, which was also delicious! we will be back soon..
– Carol L., 4/17/18.

From the moment you enter this establishment you feel welcomed. The atmosphere is inviting and cozy. Our waiter Ryan was professional, friendly and accommodating. The Chef can take simple ingredients and transforms them into mouth watering, clean creations for any pallet.  We wished we lived closer so we could frequent Nunzio’s more often. You can be assured you will never be disappointed! It’s a true dining experience you must try!! Bravo Chef Nunzio
– Linda G., 4/9/2018.

Simply put… exceptional. Chef Nunzio is an artist at play in the kitchen. His staff is super friendly and provide exceptional service. I was lucky enough to have dinner with friends at the chef’s table in his kitchen… no end in site to the food that keeps coming. Treat yourself, life’s short.
– P. Knapp, 4/1/18.

This is one of my favorite restaurants. I’ve taken every member in my family. They owners are very involved and like to know their customers. Food is outstanding and never boring.
– Kesha L., 3/1/18.

Thank you so much for the wonderful party you provided for my wife’s 70th birthday party.  The food was absolutely delicious and the service outstanding.  We have been receiving calls all week from family and friends raving about the party and how they have never attended a celebration to match the affair you provided,  With our deepest respect and appreciation.
– A. & M. Schernecki, 2/4/218.

Recently my wife and i went to the nunzio. we loved the atmosphere,the food and the service.our waiter mustafa was so accommodating and professional i had veal chop by his recommendation and it was the best veal chop i ever had.i highly recommend nunzio restaurant if you ever go to collingswood.
– Farz I., 1/18/18.

Love going there food is delicious. Atmosphere and service wonderful. Makes me feel great every time we dined there. My birthday tonight felt very special. Thank you to my husband for taking me there.
– Deborah M., 1/9/18.

Best meal I have ever had! I plan on returning soon! Food was cooked perfectly. I couldn’t ask for anymore!
– Tommy D., 1/6/18.

Subscribe to the Nunzio Ristorante Rustico Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest menu updates and special events notifications

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest