856-858-9840 email

reviews


Channeling a small italian village, this cozy collingswood trattoria matches beautiful decor, innovative mouth watering cooking for a good price, helped along by the BYO policy.  The only sticking point is the loud sound level so do not expect to carry on a conversation.

 

ADULATION of fresh vegetables and seasonal ingredients may seem cutting-edge, but Nunzio Patruno grew up cooking this new old-fashioned way years ago, and he has the loyal hordes to prove it.

 

He was deliberate and quick, an exemplary table side showman.  Seasoning seemed non-existent on the fish, but it was so moist it was obvious that perfection was attained in the cooking process.  Branzino, a European sea bass, is gaining popularity in this country.  And if it’s always prepared like this, that’s a very good thing.

 

Nunzio wastes no time in the kitchen.  I didn’t see any tall food go by – no teetering ziggurats sporting herbal antennae.  Nunzio merely places the food on the plate, content to dazzle you with its deliciousness.

 

whose stuffed Colorado Lamb anchored holiday meals resonated most with our readers, nearly, 8,000 of whom weighed in. With 58% of votes for the last seven rounds in seven months, Patruno can officially lay claim to the title of South Jersey Magazines Top Chef.

 

Chef Nunzio Patruno’s trattoria in the heart of downtown Collingswood has rightfully remained one of South Jersey’s go-to spots for a fine family meal built around classic dishes.

 


Here’s a reason to become a regular: you can store your wine in Nunzio’s own wine locker at this favorite Italian BYOB—minus the corkage fee.

 

Nunzio’s has earned its rightful place in the South Jersey dining scene and remains worthy of the 4 forks we awarded the restaurant years back. And while food trends may come and go, this South Jersey mainstay seems to have figured out the formula to keep all sorts of diners coming back.

 

No bones about it: The whole branzino is quickly and expertly filleted tableside, and is positively seductive with its golden drizzle…

 

This is an authentic Italian restaurant in every respect that will garner national attention, and it will go a long way in helping to build a much-improved restaurant and food culture in our area.


Customer Reviews

I delighted in the Osso Buco special and the Tuna Carpaccio. The food was delightful. Don’t forget to BYOB, because the right wine make it all that much better.
– Carol K., 2/1/207.

Hi Nunzio, Maribel, Antonio and Staff:
I want to take a moment to express my many thanks to all of you for making my Birthday Celebration an unforgettable evening. Leah and I, along with my closest relatives had a wonderful time. I am honored to have you as the best Chef in the Delaware Valley serve me and my family on this special occasion. Leah and I love your level of professionalism and attention to detail. This is the best restaurant in the area! Leah and I have been coming here for the past few years and have never had a bad experience. We feel like we are part of your family and you the part of ours. I look forward to many more healthy years of food and staff enjoyment. See you Sunday evenings and special dinner offers. Can’t wait to see you all again soon.Please share this email with appreciation to all of your staff.
Sincerely with respect and adoration,
– Joe Loeb, 1/25/2016..

“Third time in 1 year and have not been disappointed”
love the food and the atmosphere. Great salmon and canolli. not noisy but went for lunch and not dinner so not sure what happens then. I personally hate noisy restaurants. part of the enjoyment of dinner is good conversation and screaming to be heard is not enjoyable or relaxing.
– tapkap., 12/27/2016.

“Mangia! Mangia! (Eat, eat)”
No such better words. We have frequented this establishment many, many times. This time we were there for the Christmas Eve feast. This was the first time in 30 years that I didn’t cook the 7 fish dinner myself. It was worth every penny. The food kept coming and coming. You don’t have to wait for Christmas. Go anytime. Ps it’s a BYOB which makes it really nice.
– Celeste P., 12/24/2016.

“Nice “Specials” Evening”
We had all specials for the evening, soup, main dishes, and dessert. All excellent. Table  was ready upon arrival a few minutes prior. Excellent service.
 – Poliero, 12/15/2016.

“Excellent food and service”
this was our first time here and it exceeded our expectations! Everyone at our table raved  about their appetizers, main course and the excellent service. We will definitely go back  soon.
 – Hildy723, 12/10/2016.“When you want a Quality meal:)”

Nunzios is one a kind restaurant in my town. The best waiter ever is our friend Ryan, so knowledgeable, professional and will always go that extra mile to make his guest happy. I have never had a meal at Nunzios that I have any complaints about, if something isn’t right for you… they make it right! Nice cozy atmosphere ( sometimes sooo crowded though), bring your fave wine and ” on ice it goes”. If you are looking for an exceptional meal, you must make a reservation and enjoy an evening at Nunzios!!
– Maurie M., 12/8/2016.

One of our faves. Went last night for my husband’s birthday. He had Caesar Salad and Orata (fish of the day). I had the perfectly Grilled Octopus and Wild Boar with Gnocchi special. Every morsel was delicious, the service prompt, friendly and attentive as usual. Thank you, Chef Patruno and Nunzio staff, for another exceptional experience! Don & Johanna Z.
– Johanna Z., 11/20/2016.

“Wonderful evening!”
My daughter and I had reservations on a Friday night. They took us right in and seated us. Our waiter, Ryan, was excellent and made us feel right at home. My daughter and I started off with their delicious lobster bisque with crab meat. For my entrée I had a bronzino fillet. It was outstanding. Moist and mild tasting with a light flavorful sauce. We had to save room for dessert. I had their special for the evening, a warm apple torte with caramel sauce. Very good! The restaurant, for being quite full, was not noisy and the spacing of the tables was good. In some restaurants these two things can ruin an evening. We definitely will return!
– magnusj, 11/18/2016.

“True Italian food”
From wild boar to veal to soft shell crabs to gnocchi, all the dishes are perfect. Everything is served seasonally. Décor is beautiful an service is always on point. in fact that’s where my family is taking me for my 70th birthday. And check out there special menu nights. Always interesting.
– aplblossom, 11/10/206.

“Amazing Everything”
We were a party of eight(two small children). We were seated at a table by the window. The children were served their food right away. Our adult entrees were wonderful; wild boar, gnocchi,and ahi tuna. The service was exceptional. Desserts were equally awesome. We can’t wait to return.
– diandgary2014, 11/5/2016.

If the wild boar with pumpkin gnocchi is a dinner special when you’re here, do yourself a favor and order it. It was delicious! The combination of flavors from the boar, gnocchi and sauces worked so well together. We had a party of nine last night and service was great. I’ve been here twice now and haven’t been disappointed yet.
– Theresa M., 11/1/2016.

My wife and I frequent Collingswood, NJ for the fine restaurants. Nunzio’s is one of the few restaurants we had not been to. We went on October 22nd, 2016 with 2 other couples. The inside decor is very nice. We were sat quickly after our reservation. The service was excellent and our food was incredible. I had the boar which melted in your mouth. It is a dry town so w brought our own alcohol. It was roughly 120.00 per couple with appetizers and desserts which wasn’t too bad. They also had a very nice menu and overall, the experience was incredible!! We would definitely go back to Nunzios.
– Merkel1, 10/27/2016.

Restaurant Week is always a touch and go affair. It gives you a chance to try a new place at a reasonable price but more often than not, the experience leaves a lot to be desired. This was not the case at Nunzio’s. The room itself is very nice – the service friendly and professional and the food extremely good both in quality and quantity.Dinner started with a very good Autumn Ratatouille Crostini. With 3 items to chose from for our second choice, we picked the Butternut Squash Cream Soup with Jumbo Lump Crab Meat; it was delicious with an abundant amount of crab. The Tuna Carpaccio with Baby Arugula was our other choice and was a generous amount of thinly sliced tuna with shaved Parmigiano and again delicious. (For my personal taste, I could have done without the sliced long hot peppers in the dish.)Both entrees were also delicious – Grilled Fillet of Branzino over braised fennel in a saffron sauce and a fairly large Braised Lamb Shank over pumpkin gnocchi in a Gorgonzola cream sauce.We don’t usually get dessert but it being restaurant week the Pumpkin & Cinnamon Panna Cotta was included and again was a hit. All this for only $35 per person before tax & tip. (BTW: It’s a BYO.) We are looking forward to returning to try things from their regular menu.

– Jimrad, 10/24/16.

A great meal from beginning to end. The owner made us feel like we were friends more then customers. Great overall experience.
– Peter D., 9/17/16.

“The food gets better every time I visit.”
Nunzio and his staff surprise me with unique and fantastic entrees. No matter how unusual the specials sound they never cease to amaze me. The first few times I would hesitantly sample a new dish like: skate, fried artichokes, and dandelions to name a few. This past Sunday we tried and were delighted by the delicately breaded and fried stuffed zucchini flowers. They were so good that we ended up trying to steal them from each others plates. Don’t be afraid to try something new you could be very pleasantly surprised.
– TruthfulTraveler623, 9/11/16.

With so many restaurants on Haddon Ave. to choose from, Nunzio caught our eye (aka we thought it looked the cutest from the outside) and where we ended up for dinner on Saturday night. It turned out be super cute inside, as well. From the bread w/pesto dipping sauce to the carpaccio appetizer and veal entrees, everything was delicious. They accidentally gave us the antipasto at first and it looked awesome. Good to know for next time. I had the veal saltimbocca and my friend had the veal marsala, both accompanied with escarole and whipped potatoes. We also shared a side of linguine. I thought the portions made sense for the price, especially considering we both ordered meat.
– Theresa M., 8/8/16.

Another fabulous meal at Nunzios.  My husband and I went last night for our anniversary.  I had farm to table and he ordered off the menu. Our waiter was perfect;  we had all we needed without knowing he was there. Awesome food and service.
– Stacie S., 7/29/16.

Nunzio’s is wonderful – food is always delicious and the service is outstanding! Their homemade bruschetta and bread is so good! Our server Ryan was AWESOME! We’ve had him twice already. Hard worker, always attentive, always has great recommendations and is all around an amazing server. Definitely request him and give him a great tip!
-Caroline M., 7/28/16.

We invited new friends to attend this first time Nunzio experience and we not disappointed on any count. The food was delicious, perfectly timed, and our waiter was pleasant and knowledgeable about the dishes and the specials.A plus was having decaf cappuccino . Would return for another seating in the future.
– Austin L., 6/8/16.

I just wanted to thank you for your help in planning my party this past Saturday.  The party was wonderful.  The food was delicious and I could not have asked for a better Server. Ryan was a pleasure.  He made the day so easy. He went above and beyond my expectations.  My guests all noticed as well and raved about him! Thank you again.
– D Curreri, 5/3/2016.

I went for a special birthday lunch for my husband. We had great service.  And I think its a plus.  We brought our own wine. To start off we had a meat platter with olives, cheese, roasted peppers and imported ham.  This platter was a meal in its self for two.  I had a great seafood salad and my partner had mussels in a red sauce.  With a nice touch of garlic bread for the red sauce.  The bread that was served was very good too.  The place had nice white tablecloth and nice music for our special lunch. I will be back.
-PatriciaIT8125GH, 4/27/16.

“Great Italian Food with Friends”
Husband and I had dinner with 3 of our friends on a busy Saturday night. We had reservations, and were seated immediately. Nunzios is a BYOB, which is a definite plus. We had a nice time with friends, food was great, service was excellent. Our waiter, Byram, was professional, charming, knowledgeable. All of the waitstaff was efficient and well trained. Not intrusive, but attentive and alert as to filling water, asking if we needed bread, opening wine, etc. Good service!  Everyone enjoyed their menu choices. My husband started off with Caesar salad, our friends had the lobster bisque. All said their appetizers were good. I chose the beets with portobello and goat cheese over arugula, which was outstanding. So delicious. My husband chose the bronzino special, I had the chicken with asparagus and shrimp in a lemon wine sauce. Very well prepared, chicken moist and tender, served hot from kitchen, it obviously came right out to the table and did not spend time under the heat lights. Both entrees came with spinach and potatoes. Everyone at the table was pleased with their food. We finished our meal with coffee, cappucino, and a shared tiramisu (for the 2 of us with a sweet tooth) which was light and creamy. A nice evening out with friends, good food, nice ambiance. Will definitely return!
Tip: on busy nights, parking may be a challenge on the street, but there is parking behind restaurant, both metered and kiosk parking. A quick walk through the covered walkway brings you right to the restaurant.
– jennygirl57, 4/16/2016.

To Nunzio, Luca and Staff, Once again we want to thank you for an extraordinary evening. The food was exceptional, as always, and a great time was had by all.  Wine Club will continue to frequent Nunzio’s.  It is truly our favorite restaurant. Thank you.
– Brenda Cianfrani, president, Collingswood Wine Club.

On a Saturday night in Collingswood, it was pretty much impossible to find a place without a reservation. Even though they were packed, Nunzio found a spot for our party of five. The server was meticulous and personable. Even though we are not the biggest fans of Italian, all the food was really good and VERY reasonably priced. BYOB is a plus!
– Roy G., 3/3/2016.

Went On a Tuesday night for our anniversary dinner. While we had to wait a little bit at the entrance by the check-in station, I just had to give it 5 stars. The timing, food and service were fantastic. Luca made our evening special by being attentive and offering up the menu and being very courteous. I love this place. Will definitely be back.
– Ann C., 2/9/2016.

Awesome meal with great friends on Friday! Luca our server was excellent not a drop of food was left on anyone’s plate and we had a party of 6. Loved the large round table we had in the front window!! My husband had the wild boar and loved it! Can’t wait to go back.
– Donna L., 1/31/2016.

Absolutely loved it here. The food was fantastic and the service was excellent. An all around great dining experience. And I love that it’s BYOB also. We will definitely be going back here again very soon.
– Christine D., 1/14/2016.

Very good meal and service – returned with friends after a long lapse in visiting and it was as good as I remembered. Had the boar special with gnocchi and it was outstanding.
-N.C., 12/30/15.

What a charming place!! Staff was super friendly and ambiance was spectacular!!! We were there at Christmas time. We had reservations and were actually seated as soon as we arrived even though it was very busy. Our waiter (I should have written down his name) was awesome. Our meals were liked by all. I had a chicken dish with scallops and shrimp. It was the perfect size…not too much. We were even treated to some carolers in the restaurant. Will definitely go back and would definitely recommend 🙂
– Lisa G., 12/10/15.

Pin It on Pinterest

Subscribe to the Nunzio Ristorante Rustico Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest menu updates and special events notifications

You have Successfully Subscribed!